February 20, 2024

Here’s my 2023 AP awards ballot

Last evening, they handed out the varied NFL regular-season awards, as decided by a gaggle of fifty members of the media.

For some unusual cause, the Associated Press has given me one of many votes. In the pursuits of full and full transparency, right here’s my ballot for all the AP regular-season awards.

Each ballot consists of our prime three for all classes besides MVP, which expands from three to 5.


1.Lamar Jackson, Ravens.
2. Christian McCaffrey, 49ers.
3. Josh Allen, Bills.
4. Dak Prescott, Cowboys.
5. Tyreek Hill, Dolphins.

This was a no brainer. Lamar gained it the evening he went to San Francisco and beat the Lions and referred to as me Mike Florist/Flores (which I deserved). Lamar cemented it by throwing 5 landing passes the next weekend in opposition to the Dolphins, clinching the No. 1 seed within the AFC.

Coach of the yr

1. DeMeco Ryans, Texans.
2. Kevin Stefanski, Browns.
3. Matt LaFleur, Packers.

I felt vindicated on this one when the Texans pummeled the Browns within the playoffs. What Ryans did was wonderful. No one anticipated the Texans to make it to the playoffs. For the Browns, Stefanski’s case was hampered by the truth that the offense (his specialty) was extra of a legal responsibility than a energy for a defense-heavy workforce.

Assistant coach of the yr

1, Jim Schwartz, Browns.
2. Todd Monken, Ravens.
3. Dan Quinn, Cowboys.

Of all of the big-name defensive coordinator hires from a yr in the past, Schwartz quietly stepped in for the Browns and instantly put in a system that received essentially the most out of its finest participant, and that made all the opposite nice gamers even higher.

Comeback participant of the yr

1. Baker Mayfield, Buccaneers.
2, Damar Hamlin, Bills.
3. Joe Flacco, Browns.

This is at all times the toughest award to peg, as a result of there’s no rule and even steerage as to what the participant is getting back from. Many thought that Hamlin would clinch it the second he suited up and performed. But he didn’t play very a lot in 2023. Mayfield got here again from two misplaced years (one to damage, and one to circumstance) to be the man he was turning into in 2020. Of the three on my ballot, he’s the one one with an opportunity to land on a future ballot in a unique class (like MVP).

Defensive participant of the yr

1. T.J. Watt, Steelers.
2. Myles Garrett, Browns.
3. Antoine Winfield, Jr., Buccaneers.

Garrett was phenomenal however on the finish of the day sacks are sacks and Watt had too many extra to disregard. I gave Winfield the third spot as a result of: (1) he deserved it; and (2) it was ridiculous that he didn’t make the NFC Pro Bowl Games roster.

Offensive participant of the yr

1. Christian McCaffrey, 49ers
2. Tyreek Hill, Dolphins.
3. Lamar Jackson, Ravens.

McCaffrey is likely one of the most constantly unstoppable offensive weapons we’ve seen in years. Still, however for the December ankle damage, Hill probably would have gotten the first-place vote.

Defensive rookie of the yr

1. Kobie Turner, Rams.
2. Devon Witherspoon, Seahawks.
3. Joey Porter, Jr., Steelers.

Kobie Turner didn’t seem on 23 of fifty ballots, in any respect. I used to be torn between Will Anderson (the eventual winner) and Porter for third place. Someone made a powerful case to me that Porter no less than deserved a bit recognition for his means to play and to make an influence on an excellent Pittsburgh protection as a rookie.

Offensive rookie of the yr

1. C.J. Stroud, Texans.
2. Puka Nacua, Rams.
3. Sam LaPorta, Lions.

I used to be leaning Nacua till Stroud lit up Lucas Oil Stadium on the final Saturday evening of the season. In the previous days of 1 vote per award, I might have cut up mine between Stroud and Puka.