February 20, 2024

Kevin Stefanski named AP coach of the year

Once once more, the AP’s coach of the year comes from the Browns.

Cleveland’s Kevin Stefanski has gained the award for the second time in 4 seasons, as introduced throughout the NFL Honors ceremony on Thursday evening.

Stefanski, 41, led the Browns to an 11-6 file and a postseason look regardless of beginning 5 quarterbacks throughout the common season. Four of the staff’s starters — Deshaun Watson, P.J. Walker, Dorian Thompson-Robinson, and Joe Flacco — gained not less than one sport.

After starting the season wholesome, Watson began simply six video games for the Browns, taking part in important snaps in simply 5. But the staff additionally misplaced its greatest offensive participant in working again Nick Chubb throughout the staff’s Week 2 loss to Pittsburgh.

Still, the Browns gained 4 video games in a row down the stretch with Joe Flacco at quarterback to clinch the AFC’s No. 5 seed in Week 17.

Stefanski additionally made one of the greatest hires of the offseason, bringing in Jim Schwartz to be the membership’s defensive coordinator. The Browns completed No. 1 in yards allowed in 2023.

Houston’s DeMeco Ryans, Detroit’s Dan Campbell, Baltimore’s John Harbaugh, and San Francisco’s Kyle Shanahan have been the different finalists for coach of the year.

Stefanski and Ryans acquired the identical quantity of factors (165) for the award with first, second, and third-place votes. But Stefanski acquired 21 first-place votes to Ryans’ 20 for the tiebreaker.

Stefanski beforehand gained the award in 2020 after main the Browns to their first postseason look since 2002.

Campbell and Shanahan acquired three first-place votes, Harbaugh acquired two, and Rams coach Sean McVay acquired one.

Pittsburgh’s Mike Tomlin, Indianapolis’ Shane Steichen, Green Bay’s Matt LaFleur, Tampa Bay’s Todd Bowles, Miami’s Mike McDaniel, and Buffalo’s Sean McDermott additionally acquired votes.