May 21, 2024

Inoue Vs. Nery: Weights And Expert Predictions


FOUR world title fights to stream LIVE on ESPN+ MONDAY at 4 a.m. ET/1 a.m. PT – The ringwalks for Inoue vs. Nery are scheduled for six a.m. ET / 11 a.m. UK

Naoya Inoue will probably be defending his 4 super-bantamweight belts in opposition to one other Mexican in Luis Nery on Monday in Tokio.

Both fights promise to be explosive, if maybe one-sided in favour of the 2 champions. Canelo is a giant favorite to defeat Munguia, though a few consultants who took half within the conventional Ring Magazine battle picks ballot are choosing Munguia to drag it off in Las Vegas.

But it’s a distinct story relating to the Ring ballot on who wins in Japan on Monday. Of the 20 consultants requested, not a single one is choosing Nery to derail “The Monster.” Inoue, excellent at 26-0(23) is for some individuals the reigning pound-for-pound king, and this won’t change on Monday. Not in response to the 20 consultants who spoke with ‘The Bible of Boxing,’ anyway.

Of the 20 consultants requested their opinion, 18 are choosing the champ to attain the KO or stoppage, and a few consultants, resembling Raul Marquez and Rich Marotta, are of the thoughts that Inoue does it fairly fast, someplace between three and 5 rounds. The two consultants who really feel Inoue should go the gap to see off Nery, are Duke McKenzie, who curiously picks Inoue to win by way of majority resolution, and Marty Mulcahey, who says Inoue by UD.

Nery will after all not be listening to the consultants, he’s targeted and within the zone. And the 29 yr previous southpaw with the 35-1(27) report is sounding massively assured entering into, and he has been ever for the reason that battle was first introduced. But then loads of Inoue’s earlier foes got here throughout as assured when heading into the battle with him, solely to be worn out, or outboxed after which worn out.

31 yr previous Inoue is particular, very particular. He is a generational expertise. Inoue appears to have zero weaknesses, even when Nery is insistent he has noticed some holes in Inoue’s recreation. Inoue can also be boxing at residence, earlier than his adoring countrymen and ladies. It’s an enormous activity Nery will face on Monday.

Look for Nery, who can crack, to provide it his all, earlier than in the end being stopped, maybe saved by his nook or by the referee, in round six thrilling, if one-sided classes.

  • Date: Monday, May 6
  • Start Time: 4 a.m. ET / 1 a.m. PT / 9 a.m. BST (UK)
  • Streaming: Live on ESPN+
  • Venue: Tokyo Dome, Tokyo, Japan

Updated Fight Card:

(ESPN+, 4 a.m. ET/1 a.m. PT)

  • Naoya Inoue: 121 3/4 lbs | 55.3 kg vs. Luis Nery: 121 lbs | 54.9 kg (Inoue’s Undisputed Junior Featherweight World Title – 12 Rounds, Referee: Michael Griffin, Judges: Benoit Roussel, Jose Roberto Torres, Adam Height) ESTIMATED RING WALK TIME: 7:35 a.m. ET/4:35 a.m. PT
  • Jason Moloney: 117 3/4 lbs | 53.5 kg vs. Yoshiki Takei: 117 3/4 lbs | 53.5 kg (Moloney’s WBO Bantamweight World Title — 12 Rounds, Referee: Steve Willis, Judges: Benoit Roussel, Ellis Johnson, Lou Moret) ESTIMATED RING WALK TIME: 6:25 a.m. ET/3:25 a.m. PT
  • Takuma Inoue: 117 3/4 lbs | 53.5 kg vs. Sho Ishida: 117 3/4 lbs | 53.5 kg (Inoue’s WBA Bantamweight World Title — 12 Rounds, Referee: Luis Pabon, Judges: Pinit Prayadsab, Kazunobu Asao, Michiaki Someya) ESTIMATED RING WALK TIME: 5:20 a.m. ET/2:20 a.m. PT
  • Seigo Yuri Akui: 112 lbs | 50.8 kg vs. Taku Kuwahara: 112 lbs | 50.8 kg (Akui’s WBA Flyweight World Title — 12 Rounds, Referee: Raul Caiz Jr.) ESTIMATED RING WALK TIME: 4:10 a.m. ET/1:10 a.m. PT



Source